During the period 2007–2016, Forte funded ten Centres of Excellence (Forte centres). The initiative was commissioned by the government with the aim of increasing the international visibility and competitiveness of Swedish research. In 2018, a final evaluation of the initiative was conducted.

This report describes the final evaluation of the Forte centres of excellence, and its results. The evaluation is conducted by professor Johannes Siegrist, professor Arja R. Aro, professor Dr. Steffen Hillmert, professor Dr. Ronald A. Knibbe, professor John Solomos, professor Judith Phillips och docent Lars Geschwind.